Concrete Timbre

Voices of justice and consanguinity...

Flag Room

Fraunces Tavern® Museum

Wed, July 9, 2014 at 1:00 pm

Clemente Soto Vélez

Abrazo Interno Gallery Theatre

Sat, July 12, 2014 at 7:00 pm

Sun, July 13, 2014 at 6:00 pm

On July 9 1776,

five days after America separated from England, the Declaration of Independence

was read aloud in New York City.

Concrete Timbre recreates the Declaration

along with other original compositions reviving revolutionary ideas

with contemporary relevance through music, text, and visuals in a multidisciplinary exploration

of freedom, independence, free-thinking, and relationships 

with genres ranging from

jazz to poetry to electro-acoustic to classical.

featuring artists:

Ivy Adrian, Moon Bass, Nathalie Bryant, Gina Cuffari,

Emma DeGrand, Lauri Galbreath, David A. Green,

Nancy Greening, Christopher Hall, Comfort Katchy, Eric Kramer,

Margaret Lancaster, Manuela Lechler, Tracey Conyer Lee, Aleksandra Miglowiec,

Patrice Miller, Robert Morton, Kyoko Oyobe, Christopher Poeschl, Libya Pugh,

Lillian Redl, Darrell Smith, Ann Warren, Jonathan Williams


Declaration of Independence

Music by Christopher Hall

Text by Thomas Jefferson

A free improv music exploration underscoring the text.

Music Performers: Moon Bass, Christopher Hall, Darrell Smith

Performers: Nathalie Bryant, David Green,

Christopher Poeschl, Jonathan Williams

Mavericks in Sheol

(for Solo Flute and Actor)

Music by Ann Warren

Text by Nancy Greening

Illustration by Robert Keppler

Projections by Robert Morton

Flute (July 9): Margaret Lancaster

Flute (July 12, 13): Aleksandra Miglowiec

Actor: David A. Green

The Drum

Music by Lillian Redl

Poem by John Scott Amwell

The Dark Hills

Music by Lillian Redl

Poem by Edwin Arlington Robinson 

I Hear an Army

Music by Lillian Redl

Poem by James Joyce

Soprano (July 9): Gina Cuffari

Soprano (July 12, 13): Lauri Galbreath

Piano: Eric Kramer

Drum: Darrell Smith


Music by Ivy Adrian

Text by Gwendolyn Brooks

Performed By Consent of Brooks Permissions

Concept by Emma DeGrand

Choreographed by Patrice Miller

Performers: Comfort Katchy, Tracey Conyer Lee, Libya Pugh

Piano: Ivy Adrian

Cabbage Moon 

Music by Manuela Lechler

Text by Jan Wahl

Illustrations by Adrienne Adams

Projections by Robert Morton

Choreographed by Patrice Miller

Performers: Kyoko Oyobe, Manuela Lechler, Christopher Poeschl


Music by Manuela Lechler

Performed by: Kyoko Oyobe, Manuela Lechler

presented as part of the

undergroundzero festival

Web version of Vojac program